Red Onions and Vivid Dreams

I am blogging right before I go to bed, and about an hour after I have eaten a large portion of a raw red onion. Eating red onions before going to bed is a pretty effective way of inducing lucid dreams, or at least it has been in my past, and so I always wondered what would happen if I ate a lot of them, right before I went to bed. So, I put it on my Bucket List to do, and now I’m doing it.

I chopped about two slices of some fresh red onion and ate it straight and raw. Immediate effects: stomach-ache, desire to eat something else to get the taste out of my mouth, sensation like swallowing ocean water, unhappiness at doing this whole thing so unceremoniously. I say unceremoniously because I have been at a friend’s house most of the night and just came home. It’s two a.m. and so when I got home I creeped around in the kitchen in the dark to get everything I needed. I quietly turned on a light, chopped the onion, ate the onion, took multiple pictures, and nearly threw-up. No one was there and I felt like I was committing a crime, but I had to do it. I didn’t really mentally prepare for this either; I realized at about eleven o’clock tonight that I had promised I would do the red-onion challenge Sunday night. I know what you’re thinking: “Mark, you idiot, you are the only forcing yourself to do this challenge. Don’t do it if you don’t want to.” Good point, but it’s too late for that, I already ate the onion bits.

I ate the onion and gave it an hour or so to be digested and get into the bloodstream. The next step, in order to ensure that I get the most out of tonight, is to set multiple alarms. I have set an alarm for three a.m., four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, and ten in the morning. At first, I didn’t know whether I should awake and manually write what I dreamt, or if it would be better to type it on my computer and have to wait for it to warm-up. Steven suggested that I use the voice-recorder that comes standard on IPhones. Steven, so smart. Now, not only will I be able to talk quickly and not be hampered my wpm or writing speed, but I will also be able to detail exactly what I remember when I wake up. And, if I am able, I might be able to upload the sound recordings. I will also try and take pics of my clock so you know this is not a farce like the moon landing.

Chances are this fails. I do not know. I know it is two thirty in the morning, and on this Monday I have very little to do and sleep is not that valuable to me. I am excited to see what happens, and look forward to sharing my dreams!

#Ihavemultipledreams

Red Onions and Vivid Dreams

Leave a Reply

