Food

I realize now, after working basically all day, that a lot of my life revolves around food. I woke up today, and of course ate breakfast–typical human thing to do, but still food. And, the food was leftover the night before when we ate at a Dough, a very foodie restaurant (hate that word, love the idea). Anyway, after breakfast I got coffee, for free!, at Valero. Then I went and worked at the farmer’s market from 7:30 to 1:00, which is food-centric as possible. I sold food, talked about food, cleaned food, labeled food, and was really only there in the first place because I love the idea of organic, local food. Food!

Then, after that I went home where I fixed myself some food that was completely local and/or homemade. Bread, vegetables, fruit–that kind of thing. Then I went to Luke’s (ok not food). Then, I went to H.E.B. where I worked around food all day. I bagged it, ate some of it, cleaned and organized it, and marveled over the unique qualities of it. Food!

I don’t like the word foodie, and I’m not, although I do appreciate food. However, I feel like it has become a really big part of my life lately, but I think that is inevitable if you’re interested in eating locally and wholly. When you think about where your food comes from and who grew it, about how you’re cooking it and what it took to make it, you spend a lot more time making sure that what you’re eating is worth your time and good for the Earth. So, because that’s what I am interested in, I just spend a lot more time surrounding myself in the culture. I don’t know if this farmer-foodie schtick is what I want for myself, but it’s where I am now and I really like it.

In other news, the Champions League Final was the only normal-teenage activity of my day and it was a very good day. And in even other news, I am very tired and respect people who work two jobs on a continuous basis. And the in news farthest away from the original news as possible, I am very much liking the unique niche I have right now.

Oh and another thing, I have decided to keep a list of places that gives me free drinks (coffee, soda, other), because I have my own reusable bottle. The first one on my list is the Valero on Huebner and Bitters.

Food

Leave a Reply

