Wait, Mark, Weren’t You Trying to Finish Your Bucket List?

I can explain, I promise.

I am more scrupulous of myself than you are of me, I am sure of that. I hold myself accountable to promises I make, and so when I said I am trying to cross things off my Bucket List, I wasn’t joking nor have I stopped. I have just hit a little speedbump.

The Bible. I’m reading the Bible and it’s taking a long time. Width-wise, the Bible is certainly not the most intimidating book I’ve ever read, but it’s misleading. The pages are sheet thin, most have four lines of text over two pages, there is no extra space for frills, and the stories can be concentration killers.

I know I’m beating a dead horse when I talk about how hard the Bible is to read, and I of all people was doubtful that it would take me A FULL 90 DAYS to read; but now, I’ll be happy if I even finish in the prescribed amount of time. I have quantum leaped forward in the New Testament– I’m almost done. In the first part of the Old Testament, I am right on schedule. But in the second section of the Old Testament, I am massively behind and can’t bring myself to read it long enough to catch up.

The good news: I don’t blow up if I can’t finish reading it in ninety days (fingers crossed). I will finish reading it no matter how long it takes, and certainly before Summer is over.

There are a few reasons that I have not concentrated enough on the Bible, and they are all other books. The first was “RUN!” by Dean Karnazes, and now I am hopelessly enthralled in “The Help,” a soon-to-be movie. Once I finish “The Help,” I will devote mine eyes blindly to the reading of doth Good Book. I can finish it in a few days if I eschew the schedule and just attack the thing, and that’s what I plan on doing.

I just wanted you to know that I haven’t given up on crossing things off my Bucket List, I’ve just run into one that takes awhile!

P.S. I have some French Bread in the oven right now, and I think it may be my first successful French Bread. If it is successful, it will be in an upcoming blog. If it is not, I will probably return to this post and edit this Post Script out.

Wait, Mark, Weren’t You Trying to Finish Your Bucket List?

2 thoughts on “Wait, Mark, Weren’t You Trying to Finish Your Bucket List?

Leave a Reply

