Harry Potter

I’m not sad about it, which is a surprise to me; in fact, I don’t have any emotions about the finale at this point. I was in second grade when I heard the first Harry Potter, my teacher, Ms. Huckaba, read it to our class every day. In retrospect, I’m surprised there was no backlash seeing as how I went to an Episcopalian school and we were really young. Witchcraft and whatnot, was typically frowned upon.

I don’t remember when I read the books for the first time, I know that at least by the fifth one I was anticipating the book. I mean that I had read the others, and I was part of an unspoken competition based on whom can read the book the quickest. Actually, now that I think about it, I was waiting on the third one, because I remember going to a midnight release of the book (before there were midnight premieres) with my mom. Anyway, the point is that I, like many Americans, have grown up with Harry Potter.

It has taken so long to get to this point, to this final movie, but time-wise, I feel blessed. If I were older when the first one were released, I would be a little too old right now to allow myself to get carried away with the whole thing. If I were younger when Harry Potter was released, I think I would feel like I was adopting the story, instead of feeling like I was the intended recipient.

If I’m ever a parent, I’m going to insist that my children the Harry Potter series, because I still remember the comfortable, dream feeling of reading one of those books on a summer afternoon in my bedroom. The movies have been high quality too, and I would insist that my kids watch those too, but only after they read the books.

Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

