Spotify

Spotify is literally the biggest thing in the music industry since the invention of the ear, by God. I recommend to go to Spotify.com right now and get on the waiting list to be get Spotify in around three weeks. I signed myself up a month ago (for free) and just got the program last week. Since then, I have used it for hours, and the brilliant thing is the transition to using Spotify is seamless, and you feel like you’ve been using it for years.

The idea behind Spotify is really simple, and none of its components are breathtaking; its utility comes from the fact that it combines a bunch of things that you have always wanted, but are never combined together. The layout of Spotify looks exactly like iTunes, and in fact, when you download Spotify it syncs with your iTunes library so all your music is on Spotify to begin with. The cool part comes when you want to listen to songs you don’t own. Spotify markets itself as a competitor to Pandora, and if the mobile version were free, it would compete ferociously. At this point in time, the mobile version of Spotify isn’t free, but I predict that it will be in the future when the product has solidified itself and isn’t so experimental.

The main difference between Spotify and Pandora is that Spotify works like an iTunes search. Say that you want to listen to Rihanna songs. If you plug Rihanna into Pandora, you will get a bunch of different songs that have similar qualities to Rihanna, and you will be exposed to a lot of new music. But, if you just wanted to hear Rihanna, then Pandora isn’t the place to go–Spotify is. In Spotify, you search in the iTunes like webpage for your favorite artist. In the top right you type in “Rihanna,” then Spotify brings up all of her songs from all of her albums, just like iTunes. However, unlike iTunes’ thirty second clip, Spotify allows you to listen to the entire song if you click on it, and you can listen to as many songs as you’d like. All for free.

I agree wholeheartedly with my brother’s point that Pandora is still the place to go to find new music, outside of music blogs or something of that nature. For the curious listener, Pandora works well as a way to introduce you to new bands that you might like because of their commonalities with bands that you know you like. I see Spotify and Pandora working together in the future. Pandora to introduce you to new music, and then Spotify to allow you to really explore that new artist and decide which songs you like, or if you don’t like the artist as much as you thought.

Like I said, it’s not a groundbreaking idea, but it is very convenient. You can also create playlists in Spotify, and what I have been doing is when I check out a new artist, I create a playlist for them on the left side of my screen and then drag all their music into that playlist. I haven’t bought the songs, but I can listen to them anytime I’m on my computer. It’s basically your iTunes playlist on your computer, except for that you can have all the music you want completely free. It is meant as a way to entice customers into buying the songs from iTunes by allowing you to listen to them for free, but not having the freedom of listening to them on your IPhone. It’s working on me so far. I really like this one band I’ve been listening to, but I am limited to only listening to them on my laptop. I soon see myself buying the album from iTunes. And we both win.

http://www.spotify.com/us/hello-america/

Spotify

Leave a Reply

