Quick Fix Biscuits

20110817-113715.jpg

Don’t tell the biscuits, but I made them just so I can have something on which to put jam. But not just any jam, mind you.

At the farmer’s market I worked at, there was a vendor who always set up his van to the right of Penny’s van. His name is Don Bales, and in addition to selling the best jam I’ve ever had (I haven’t had much though), he was one of the best salesmen I have ever seen. His picture is in the dictionary next to the word “shmooze.” He had a seller’s permit that allowed him to give samples of his food to customers, something that most vendor’s couldn’t, but didn’t really need to do. Don would gather crowds and evangalize about his products: jams, preserves, jellies, pickled vegetables, salsas, agave-sweetened (for diabetics) products, honeys, and occasionally cheeses. Naturally, it was hard for me to sit next to him every weekend and not buy anything, so I caved and bought a peach jelly. Best I ever had. But it lasted too long! I couldn’t eat it quick enough! Finally, I finished it and bought a Mission fig preserve. Best I ever had. But it lasted so long! So I only got to buy two of his creations.

Then, on my last day, he summoned me over to his stand. “Anything you want, Mark, try whatever you want and take one home with you.” 

I fainted.

Then, when I came to, I tasted enough pickled veggies, salsas, and jams to send me into a coma. I finally decided on the tart cherry, but they were fresh out. So, I took my second favorite, the blackberry. Blackberry is one of my all-time favorite fruits, and by far the jam I buy most consistently. Don gave me a jar for free and I thanked him profusely, because these things aren’t cheap.

Here’s the thing though, I didn’t want to waste the delicious jam on a Pb&J, I just can’t taste the jam enough when I do, but I don’t really like toast. Solution = biscuits.

One of the all-time easiest recipes in the world. I even have it memorized. I’ll list it, but I don’t want my blog to turn into a big recipe blog, so I don’t want to do this often. I’m doing it for the jam that’s in your fridge that deserves a good bed, not you.

Quick Fix Biscuits:

1. 2 1/4 cup Flour (if you have self-rising flour omit items #2 and #3)
2. 1 tsp. baking powder
3. 1/2 tsp. baking soda
4. 3/4 cup shortening
5. 1 cup milk (or soymilk if you want them sweet) {I did a batch of them with soymilk cause “I don’t use animal products, and they taste the great” These are actually vegan if you use vegetable shortening}.

Combine first three ingredients. Add the rest of the ingredients. Mix into a dough. Knead on a floured sheet of parchment paper. Spread thin (1″) with fingers, then fold over and cut with glass or cookie cutter. Place on baking sheet. 20-25 minutes at 425. “Supposed” to make 10, I always end up with eight or nine. Sue me.

Quick Fix Biscuits

Leave a Reply

