A Quick Summary of My Classes

Western Civilizations (PII): A Plan II class that I insisted on taking because my experience with its precursor class was amazing. The original class was “The Fall of the Roman Empire through the Medieval Ages,” this is “Post Renaissance through the Industrial Revolution,” I think. The professor reminds me a lot of Clive Owen, and he can be pretty funny, but his humor only comes in little “asides.” The class seems more difficult than I had imagined, and larger as well, but the literature seems interesting. Short, and interesting. I don’t have the main textbook yet, but I started reading one of the novels we have to read and I really like it. There will be a lot of writing, consisting mostly of essays and and papers, which is fine with me. I guess I don’t really care so much anymore about how I do in class, so long as I learn as much as I want to learn. Plus, my good friend Patrick Noe is in that class so I have someone from whom I can mooch and at whom I can shoot spitballs and other things miscreant schoolchildren do.

Philosophy (PII): I’ve only had this class once so far; in fact, I’ve only been to rest of the classes I’m going to talk about once–still. I love this class. It seems right up the intellectual side of my alley, and I think I can bring an interesting Christian viewpoint to everything being discussed. Professor Seung is an eighty year old South Korean, with a tendency to be mildly, cutsey-racist to races near his place of birth i.e. “you’re Indian? you’re Pakistani? Don’t sit together.” “You’re Chinese? I thought you were disciplined. Why are you late?” It’s hilarious. He seems incredibly smart and calm, but he ejaculates (hehe) out of nowhere sometimes, yelling at people for very normal responses. Not reprobating, but encouraging, typically like “Yes! That’s the answer I was looking for!” kind of thing. Our first literature is Plato’s “The Republic,” and it’s very interesting so far, but I feel like this one of those classes where although we spend massive amounts of time reading very important books, we’ll only discuss the books briefly. Professor Seung is the kind of guy who values us getting a good education over us getting good grades, and so I can see long, lengthy diversions and digressions in our discussions.

Classical Mythology: As with four of my five classes, I’ve only had this class once, but at this point, I am easily the most dissapointed in this class. I love mythology, something that a certain Mr. Sipe cultivated and aggrandized during three years of Latin in high school, but this class does not appear to be at all what I thought it would be. The professor is taking his class much too abstractly, which I know is a weird claim seeing as how none of it is real, but he is focusing too much on the role and importance of the myth in culture and metaphoric symbology, then he is on just letting us study Theseus. And, to make things worse, he has already given a load of homework. I think though, that giving so much homework may be his way of weeding out people (like me) who thought this class would be fun, easy, and rote memorization-based. I won’t quit, but I foresee many people dropping this class because the professor–a chubby, Central American, unfunny man–takes his class too seriously for an intro to mythology class.

Intro to Geography: The class for which I had the lowest expectations is now appearing to be one of my favorites for two reasons. First, the professor has something about him–I can’t say what exactly–that just makes him really easy to listen to. We played an interesting sort of “Where’s Waldo” game for the first class, where we looked at pictures he has taken from across the world, and we analyzed the data available in the pictures in an attempt to “think like geographers.” The professor is intriguing, funny at the right moments, and not afraid to say geography is way more important than it really is. Second, Mike just moved into that class! It was the only class I knew no one in, and Mike needed the science credit, so now we’re taking it together. Booyah

Logic and Modes of Reasoning (PII): This is another Plan II class, and I think it’s really going to earn that distinction. The professor seems really smart, and like my biology class last year, he is able to make complex data very understandable. In addition to making the data colloquial, he looks like your typical “cool dad.” He wears Converse with high top slacks and a bowling shirt, and cracked quite a few jokes. More than the professor though, the subject matter we went over in the first day was so interesting. We did logic problems that I think are just riddles, but they’re so fun. They’re hard problems to explain, but it gives me hope that I’ll be able to enjoy this class and learn a lot, but if I’m having trouble I’m going to be in his office hours like a fly on the wall.

Order of classes I like the most so far:

1. Philosophy (narrowly beats out the #2, and only because of the good literature we read)

2. Logic and Modes

3. World Geography

4. Western Civ

5. Mythology

A Quick Summary of My Classes

Leave a Reply

