ACL

This Wordsworth quote really feels apropos this morning: “Bliss was it in that Dawn to be Alive.”

Why?

ACL in ATX, bby

The music festival Austin City Limits begins today at noon, and the whole of Austin is buzzing about it. I have had tickets for months now, I’ve picked my line-up to see, I’ve arranged for transportation and food, and the only thing I have to do now is show up, for three days in a row, for ten hours each day.

The bands that I plan on seeing:

Friday: Cults, Theophilus London, James Blake, Smith Westerns, Ray LaMontagne,Big Boi, Cold War Kids, Foster the People, Bright Eyes, Santigold, Sara Bareilles, (a little bit of Coldplay so that I can mostly watch Kanye) Coldplay, and Kanye West

Saturday: Aloe Blacc, The Antlers, Young the Giant, Iron and Wine, Skrillex, Fitz and the Tantrums, Cut Copy, Cee Lo, Chromeo, and (maybe) My Morning Jacket

Sunday: The Airborne Toxic Event, Chiddy Bang, Fleet Foxes, Empire of the Sun, Randy Newman, and Arcade Fire

The bands that I have emboldened are the ones I am most excited to see. Not necessarily because they will put on a great show, but because I love their music. In fact, there are some bands that I am seeing just because of their novelty and fame, and not because of their music, such as Cee Lo.

I have been diligently trying to homework because I will be at ACL from noon till at least ten at night every day for the next three days, and so I’ll have precious little time to study for the two tests I have this week, and the project I have due Friday. It’s worth it though, because ACL is such an amazing event, and I can’t wait to see all my friends meet up there again. Austin takes on a whole other personality when ACL is happening, and I’m looking forward to experiencing it now that I have some more perspective about what ACL means to Austin,

I’ll try and take some good pics and upload them so you can get an idea of what the stages and performers look like, but I’m hoping and praying that my blog (and Fantasy Football) and homework don’t suffer too much because of my impending exhaustion.

Plus, it’s on my Bucket List

ACL

One thought on “ACL

Leave a Reply

