Travis High School Football

The 2011 Travis High School Rebel Football team played their last game on Thursday, November 10th.

And thank goodness, because “The 2011 Travis High School Rebel Football Team” takes about fifteen minutes to type.

They suffered a demoralizing loss to Vandegrift, which you can read about here. But yes, Mike and I did make multiple jokes about the school name “Vandegrift.”

20111111-082843.jpg

I am happy and sad to say that I can empathize with the Travis Rebels, because I too lost in a humiliating, first-round of the playoffs blowout.

I know your hurt.

20111111-082850.jpg

As a spectator, everything was different. In fact, things have been different at each Travis game I’ve attended.

I don’t care who wins. I’m happy seeing the kids get to play football. I’m happy talking to kids in the stands.

When football is played in Texas, everyone wins.

20111111-082854.jpg

I hope these guys are proud of what they did this season, and I hope that they, like me, forget about the last game of their lives. Not because it’s unimportant, but because that’s not why they played. These guys played football because their friends did. They played because it was fun. They played because their coaches are ridiculous. They played football because they loved it.

When I look back on my football “career,” I don’t remember records, game outcomes, or scores. I remember my friends tripping, getting concussions, playing practical jokes on freshmen, hanging out in the locker-room, and farting during film.

It’s about the memories. I’m glad that I got the opportunity to see that this year, and I bet one day the players on each of these varsity teams will learn this same lesson.

Good job, Travis Rebs.

20111111-082901.jpg

Travis High School Football

Leave a Reply

