My First Pop Punk Concert

You haven’t been to a pop-punk concert until you’ve been brutalized by the police, or been to a pop-punk concert.

And seeing as how no one is getting on my case yet for my “Occupy Dobie” movement, I decided I’d go with my friend Zach and roomie Sean to my first pop-punk concert.

*Interesting note: The fall semester of my freshman year started with a concert at the Red 7’s (Dead Prez), and now the fall semester of my sophomore has ended with a concert at the Red 7’s (The Story So Far).

My friend Zach B. introduced me to pop-punk, and while the music isn’t something I would listen to alone in my room, it makes for a great concert.

Pop-punk sounds a lot like punk-rock, but in Zach’s words the main difference is that pop-punk has “a second guitar” that plays interesting notes and catchy riffs.

Also, the lyrics aren’t anarchist.

20111212-214916.jpg

We came mostly for the band “The Story So Far,” who haD been on tour for close to two months. They’re all like nineteen years old. WHAT.

Zach told me that pop-punk is such a tight-knit community of fans, that often when he goes to concerts in Austin he sees the exact same guys; they all attend the same concerts and listen to the same bands.

Case and point (in my opinion): just about everyone knew all the words to every song. Impressive, no?

20111212-150958.jpg

I took a lot of pictures of the venue because it brought me back to my freshman year, but Red 7’s isn’t anything that unusual.

In fact, our line-up of bands played outdoors.

20111212-151007.jpg

So, pop-punk music. Where do I begin?

I tried to take a video of what happens, but I can’t upload videos from my phone.

I tried to take pictures, but everything moved too fast to capture.

I would try and describe it, but words cannot convey.

So, here is a youtube video that well mirrors what happens at pop-punk concerts.

20111212-151013.jpg

It’s a lot like moshing at a metalcore concert, but there are some weird dance moves that go on too.

Basically there are three groups at the concert, from near the stage to the back: the guys at the foot of the stage, the guys who thug around in a circle behind them, and the everyday people who are appalled and fascinated at what they are witnessing.

The duties of the people at the foot of the stage are to climb up onstage and stage dive (constantly), support people who jump on their backs from behind that are attempting to stage dive, take the mic when the singer offers it and sing, and generally know every lyrics and yell it.

The duties at the people who thug around in a circle are to literally judo kick the air, pump their fists and throw their elbows, troll around like mad hunchbacks, and jump on the people in the front’s backs.

The duty of the bystanders is to withold gasps.

20111212-151019.jpg

It was hilarious.

20111212-151028.jpg

Mostly awesome, though.

I mean this seriously: it was a different culture. At no other concert–at least that I’ve been to or heard of–do people do anything close to this.

Zach reassured me that this whole practice is pretty much a pop-punk think only.

20111212-151034.jpg

It was a good break from Finals, because I had been spending all my time studying. Plus, I got to hang out with some of my best friends before we started going our seperate ways.

It was so much fun, as always we got our money’s worth.

Not to mention, SOMEONE THOUGHT I WAS IN THE BAND AND NO I DIDN’T DENY IT OK SUE ME.

20111212-151051.jpg

My First Pop Punk Concert

Leave a Reply

