My Conversation with a Celebrity

Ok, first of all, “celebrity” is relative.

Second of all, he’s a celebrity to me, and his fame is growing.

Third, you heard it here first: Daniel Klein is on the forefront when it comes to fusing sustainable farming and ranching with haute cuisine.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s not a Rene Redzepi, but he has an amazing blog, from which I take a video every week for your viewing pleasure. Check it out.

On the off chance that you’ve ever watched any of the videos of his that I’ve posted, you might have noticed that the music is always very good.

It’s also impossible to find online.

So, I shot the “Perennial Plate” an email.

20111214-103453.jpg

Yes, it’s a little suck-upish, but if you want an omelet you have to crack a few eggs.

(Omelet = music hookups; eggs = my dignity)

But then, TWO MINUTES LATER, the unthinkable happened:

My boi responded.

20111214-103458.jpg

Stop right there.

One, he complimented my blog (+1).

Two, he read my post about the video and saw that I almost went to Prune to be fed by him and Gabrielle Hamilton (+2).

Three, he didn’t explicitly tell me where he gets his music, but I guess that’s part of the appeal of underground music: no ones tells you where they get it (+.5).

Finally, HE RESPONDED IMMEDIATELY. And not some tech-o who runs his blog; Daniel Klein in the cyber-flesh (+ 10).

20111214-103503.jpg

So I freaked.

I didn’t know what to say and I ended up dithering.

I am dedicating a blog post to him (*see this blog post), but I should have been cooler, maybe asked for an internship?

The fact remains: Daniel Klein from the Perennial Plate is a swell guy, in addition to a good chef and videographer.

20111214-103508.jpg

He sent another email after this offering me a job and a million dollars and a job at Noma and free cookware and a shout-out on his blog and an appearance on Good Morning America and a pony and gold but I accidentally deleted it…

My Conversation with a Celebrity

Leave a Reply

