SXSW (South by Southwest) for Idiots

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not an expert on South by Southwest. In fact, I am not going to lie to you, I probably know less about it than the average Austinite. Heck, let’s just go the whole way: I know less about SXSW than the average American.

What is South by Southwest?

Jk, I know a little about it.

So, at the risk of telling you something that is not true, I will stick to telling you things that I know are true. In order to tell you things that I know to be true, I will tell you about the parts of South by Southwest that apply to me.

First, South by Southwest takes place on the side of river I like to run along.

Second, people with bluetooth headsets invade downtown Austin and South Congress.

Third, SXSW attracts business people because start-ups come there to pitch their ideas. I know that Twitter got started here, and probably some other ones too, but remember: I am only telling you what I know, so if that means offering you very little information than so be it.

Fourth, bands play free shows! I may or may not have tickets to a Mumford and Sons, Edwarde Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Old Crow Medicine Show concert at Austin High School on Saturday. The tickets are allotted randomley, so I will not know till next week if I get them or not.

Fifth, food blogs blow up about Austin food! My surrogate city finally gets some nationwide love, and I increase my list of places where I have to eat. (This may be my favorite part of SXSW).

Sixth, it means it’s Spring Break! And Spring Break means no school! And post-SB means less than seven weeks of school!

Seventh, tickets for SXSW are like more than $1,000 or something crazy, but most kids my age work for free for companies and get special passes to see shows.

Also, comedians perform. I do not know how that ties into the business innovation theme. Comic relief?

Finally, real Austinites call it Southby. And even if you’re not planning on going to ANY OF THE EVENTS AT ALL, tell anyone who asks that “you might stick around for some Southby shows.”

Oh, I remembered there are movie screenings too! A lot of my friends’ movies were rejected….  Awk.

SXSW (South by Southwest) for Idiots

Leave a Reply

