A Quick Breath of Air

One of the quicker weeks I have ever experienced, if I do say so myself.

Normandy decided to finish with an atomic-bomb sized explosion, preferring to obliterate all of its members instead of calmly coasting to a finish. The workload for my last two weeks is greater than any other amount of work I have had to do in school, ever. They professors certainly have suspect planning though, because the previous two weeks have been relatively easy. My last month of school looks like two light weeks, followed by the two heaviest weeks of school in my life. The good news is I am almost finished with the first of these two hard weeks, and one week from today, I shall finish school.

Starting on Monday my workload was: a one page paper, a ten minute power point, three books to read, a five page document essay, a two page visual essay, a four page essay, a five page essay, three movies to watch, my final fifteen page paper, a quiz, and much too much reading centered on rape.

Not going to lie: the rape reading has been most unpleasant.

Did you know that when the Russians began fighting in Europe, and specifically Germany, estimates of the number of women  they raped range from 100,000 to 2,000,000? Not something most people talk about. A Soviet memorial in Berlin was defaced in 2010 with the words “The Tomb of the Unknown Rapist.”

You see, that is the real mess about World War II. It does not taper off; it finishes in the most disgusting fashion. The atomic bombs in Japan, fire-bombing in Hamburg and Dresden, thenincreased murder of European Jews, epidemic rape in Europe, internment of American minorities, and more unprovoked murder than you  can shake a stick at.

Almost 50 million people died in World War II. That’s not cool  at all.

More than half those losses come from the Soviet Union. Hail Stalin!

I have quite a bit of work still  ahead of me still, and do not ask me how that is. I have barely scraped the surface of the essays I have to write, but I am not as worried as I thought I would be. The fact that I still have another week before most of these things are due consoles me. I will have to work through this weekend, which is a shame because many of my good friends are coming into Austin this weekend, and my parents will join me for a Normandy Scholars brunch on Sunday. I am afraid I will not have the time to relish spending a few moments with my friends, but I know that it will be worth it.

Notable things going on this weekend that I might have to miss: 4/20 (jk…or am I?!?!), Reggae fest, Fight the World!, chilling with my parents, sleeping, respecting my body’s right to homeostasis, leisure, decency, self-respect, hygiene, going to the bathroom (adult diapers!), and thinking about things other than rape, dead children, and the Holocaust.

The good news is that I will be finished in seven days, I register for classes on Tuesday, I have a break between when I finish school and go to Europe (Sleep!), I will have accomplished something I consider impressive, Young Life all-city club!, and the Spurs’ good play of late.

Also more fun facts: the Soviet Union strapped bombs to dogs and trained them to run under German tanks and explode, Stalin funded research to create a super-soldier by inseminating human women with ape semen, margarine use in America doubles butter consumption, Russians stole watches more than anything when looting cities, we dropped the atomic bombs unnecessarily, the Warsaw uprising killed 230,000 Polish Jews (the largest single war atrocity of WWII; did you know?), Babi Yar?, Dresden only killed between 25,000 and 40,000 civilians–more died in Hamburg (thanks for nothing, Vonnegut!), and the Japanese experiments on POWs were more savage than the Nazis’

Whhheeeeewwwww I am tired. Sleep tonight, though!

Go Spurs!

Looking forward to being home for a week and seeing my parents this Sunday!

Rape is terrible!

Check out Edith Piaf “I Regret Nothing!”

Might see George Tharp this weekend, whhaattt?

Cacopardo is sulphur and sulphur is Cacopardo

A Quick Breath of Air

Leave a Reply

